School Council

School Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of every month. Childcare is available.

Dear Hilson Community,

Hilson School Council is delighted to let you know that our chocolate bar fundraiser was a terrific success! Hilson’s students sold a total of 7,590 chocolate bars in February, which works out to $6,800 for our school environment and student activities. We will be discussing how to use this money at our next council meeting on Tuesday, March 8, starting at 7 p.m. in our school library (babysitting is free if you would like to come – please do!)

The students who sold the most were Megan Hofstatter in Mme Rothgeb’s class and Ronya in Mme Kishfy’s class. A special mention goes out to Ms. Hallard’s class who sold the most chocolates per student. Several prizes (drawn randomly from all participating students) and two pizza parties were given out to congratulate all participants on their work. Congratulations to all who participated – our school and your children will benefit directly from it!

Upcoming events: We are putting together a free evening for Hilson parents on becoming their child’s “emotional coach”, to be held on April 14th – the Thursday before a PD day. Please watch for the flyer to come home in your children’s backpack shortly, and don’t forget to register. We have heard that this workshop has been well-received by hundreds of parents across Ottawa already.

We are also considering putting together a family dance in the spring, and are intent on doing another “Spring Fling” event this June, with lots of fun, free activities for our Hilson families.

Have a wonderful and safe March Break! And don’t forget to “like” Hilson School Council on Facebook!



HilsonSchool Council 2015-2016

Chair: Tara Tosh Kennedy

Co-Chair and Treasurer:  Brenda Hofstatter 

‎Secretary: Barb Bekooy 

OCASC Representative: Katherine Caine-Pollock 

Fundraising Coordinator: Anne MacCorquodale 

Volunteer Coordinator: Jenn Whiten 

Members at Large: Carrie Lehmeier, April Whitehead, Anu Lindeman, Fatema Alshehh, Dafu Lou, Sumaya Younes, Orly Lerkowicz Kelly, Kay Richter, Alana Dalley, Jennifer Whiten, Jen Beard, Lisa Thurgur, Sarah Christie

School Council Minutes



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.